Movies: Black Panther Review

2018 is a huge year for the superhero genre. There are eight comic book related films set for release over the course of this year, and there were originally more. Black Panther is the first of three that Marvel Studios is releasing this year. The movie hit theaters on February 16, and not even before the end of the weekend, reviews as well as box office numbers started pouring in. The movie was a resounding success. Critics loved it and so did fans. I did not get a chance to see it over the weekend, but I did see it shortly after. I tend to avoid reading or watching any reviews for bigger film releases like this, so I knew very little going into this movie. The only thing I had heard about it (besides how good it was) was its social relevance and importance, so I was very interested in seeing this movie. I’ve taken a bit of time to think about this movie, and although it isn’t flawless, I can agree that it’s a good movie.

Black Panther is directed and co-written by Ryan Coogler and Joe Robert Cole. The film stars Chadwick Boseman, Lupita Nyong’o, Danai Gurira, Letitia Wright, Andy Serkis, Martin Freeman, and Michael B. Jordan.

The movie picks up almost exactly where Captain America: Civil War left off. Prince T’Challa’s father, T’Chaka has died and now he is traveling home so he can officially be declared King of Wakanda. In Black Panther, Klaue (Andy Serkis) is discovered to be stealing vibranium and selling it illegally. When T’Challa goes to intercept him alongside Okoye (Danai Gurira), the head of the nation’s military, and Nakia (Lupita Nyong’o) a spy and dear companion of T’Challa’s, chaos erupts. It is revealed that Klaue is not working alone, he is doing business with Killmonger (Michael B. Jordan). Killmonger has been defined by his upbringing and is fueled by anger. He is ex-military and has very strong opinions on the state of the world. He knows all the secrets of Wakanda. It is his dream to rule over the country and expand the nation into an empire, but his violent ways among many other things leave him unfit to rule, so it is up to the Black Panther and the people of Wakanda to stop him and protect their nation.

Starting with what I liked, the casting was absolutely brilliant. I loved every actor in this film and thought they played their characters perfectly. They had phenomenal chemistry. Aside from Chadwick Boseman, special shout out has to go to Lupita Nyong’o and Letitia Wright, the latter having played T’Challa’s sister Shuri. Another thing I thought the film did very well was action. Although scarcer in this than other Marvel films, the action was still great. It was fairly well shot and edited, and it was exciting to watch. It should also come as no surprise that the humor in the movie was great too. All the jokes landed relatively well and got me to chuckle out loud a few times in the theater.

As for any dislikes or issues I had with the movie, there weren’t that many. Production wise, the movie looked good, but there were a few scenes especially near the end where the CG elements began to stick out. The writing was solid overall, but it did have weak points, and I feel it could’ve been more subtle regarding the film’s message. Aside from those little things, the only other complaint I have, my major issue, is with the antagonist, Killmonger. Jordan was great in the role, but his character was introduced far too late into the movie, and his eventual introduction was underwhelming and cliched. The screenwriters provided a great foundation involving his childhood trauma, but they don’t really build on it, they only show how he ended up. It was too big of a leap, and because of that even though I felt bad for him by the end of the movie, I wasn’t really connected to him. The character definitely needed to be developed further. I think if the film would’ve shown us more of how his aggression began to build, if they had shown him collecting scars, I think it would’ve made him more believable and compelling.

I enjoyed Black Panther. It is a perfectly enjoyable super hero movie. It isn’t as good as Captain America: Winter Soldier but it doesn’t have the problems of  a movie like Iron Man 2 or Thor: The Dark World. The characters are fun and witty, and there is a surprisingly good amount of world building accomplished in the movie as well, which makes you want to see more of them. Personally, I feel the movie has been a bit over praised, but I completely understand the significance of the movie and why people enjoy it so much. I know I’m a bit late on this one, and I do apologize for that, but if you haven’t seen Black Panther yet, I recommend checking it out if you get the chance.

 

 

FINAL REVIEW SCORE: 3.5/5

 

3 thoughts on “Movies: Black Panther Review

  1. Not a bad review here, but I definitely disagree. When you say over-praised, I think you’re neglecting the cultural touchstone it is becoming. There are reasons that the story of Wakanda has struck a chord culturally, and, while that may be outside the film in a way, it also is not. Film is at its best when it speaks to something beyond the film itself (just the same as any art). There’s a connection this film made with the outside culture that few other superhero movies have made.

    Like

    1. I totally understand what you’re saying. I suppose I should clarify that I felt it was over-praised by critics, not necessarily the audience. I think what the movie has been able to is great and I do agree with you on what you said about film. I know this isn’t the case with everyone that reviewed the film, but it seemed to me like some of the earliest reviewers were more lenient with the movie because of its relevance and cultural importance. I wanted to try to acknowledge its importance and point out things I liked about it, while also talking about its problems. To me, that doesn’t take away from how important it is, its just acknowledging that it isn’t a flawless piece of media. Nothing is perfect. I’m sorry if that isn’t the impression you got. I probably should’ve talked more about themes and cultural impact. Thanks for checking out my post and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment